Cart 0

New Release : Todd Neufeld's "Mu'U"

We released much-awaited debut album by Todd Neufeld in September 2017. The album included the compositions Neufeld has written exclusively for the group, which is joined by Thomas Morgan on bass, Tyshawn Sorey on drums and bass trombone, Billy Mintz on drums and percussions, and Rema Hasumi on voice. The fact that each musicians in this group are long-term collaborators of the guitarist contributed largely to the intimate atmosphere of how this music is played on the record.

This album is unique in it’s nature, especially in terms of it’s unusual configuration. The group has two, very different, drummers. Neufeld has recorded and performed numerous times with both drummers in various settings, thus he was able to grasp the clear image of the impact each drummer can bring into the sound-scape. Needless to say, Morgan and Neufeld have played closely in the past decade or so, most notably known by their collaboration with the pianist Masabumi Kikuchi. You can read more about Neufeld’s view on music from the extensive interview article written by Jacob Baekgaard. Purchase Todd Neufeld’s “Mu’U” here


Older Post Newer Post