Cart 0

Rema Hasumi - Abiding Dawn

Rema Hasumi - Abiding Dawn

Track List

  1. X-1
  2. Colors Last Seen
  3. Monument Eternal
  4. Wonder Through
  5. Emerge
  6. Blink
  7. Spiral
  8. X-2

Ruweh 006 



Rema Hasumi         piano, voice, analog synthesizer

Recorded December 2018 and January 2019 at Home
Engineered, Mixed and Mastered by Todd Neufeld
Photos by Tess Ayana
Design by Alejandro Escalona


Hasumi offers a highly personal and imagistic solo work as the third album under her own name.  After her albums Utazata and Billows of Blue navigated the interface of a shared and native history with her well selected ensembles, Abiding Dawn reveals Hasumi's sound world all alone, layering and unlayering voice, piano and analog synthesizers in a seamless journey of eight gorgeous tracks.  The word and the wordless, the pitched and the unpitched all meet in Hasumi's voice, while her piano honors the influences of Alice Coltrane and Masabumi Kikuchi, met squarely on her own honest terms.  The use of synthesizer, here a vintage Korg Delta DL-50, serves to encompass and meld the sonic meal.  

Recorded in a series of sessions at home by renowned guitarist Todd Neufeld, Abiding Dawn is the logical step in Hasumi's progression as an artist -- a solo offering that confronts the questions of identity in sound and lets the listener join for the process, not the finality, of it's answers.